Author Topic: Scenes within scenes  (Read 884 times)

Offline Chapin

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 83
  • Karma: +1/-4
Scenes within scenes
« on: February 19, 2017, 06:41:49 pm »
How do I run scenes within a scene?

I set up an "All Off" scene that I want to trigger with other scenes.  How do I do this?

Thanks.

Offline Z-Waver

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 4431
  • Karma: +246/-120
Re: Scenes within scenes
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2017, 06:48:52 pm »
Put this in the LUUP tab of the master scene to have it run scene number 5

Code: [Select]
luup.call_action("urn:micasaverde-com:serviceId:HomeAutomationGateway1", "RunScene", {SceneNum = "5"}, 0)
Wiki - Luup Scenes Events

Offline Chapin

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 83
  • Karma: +1/-4
Re: Scenes within scenes
« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2017, 06:56:18 pm »
Put this in the LUUP tab of the master scene to have it run scene number 5

Code: [Select]
luup.call_action("urn:micasaverde-com:serviceId:HomeAutomationGateway1", "RunScene", {SceneNum = "5"}, 0)
Wiki - Luup Scenes Events

Kick ass.  This should be easier, but there it is.

Offline akbooer

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 5116
  • Karma: +221/-67
  • "Less is more"
Re: Scenes within scenes
« Reply #3 on: February 20, 2017, 03:14:17 am »
...or you can simply define a global function in Startup Lua which can be called by any scene.  No need to make the code you want to share a scene itself.
3x Vera Lite-UI5/Edge-UI7, 25x Fibaro, 23x TKB, 9x MiniMote, 2x NorthQ Power, 2x Netatmo, 1x Foscam FI9831P.
Razberry, MySensors Arduino, HomeWave, AltUI, DataYours, openLuup, ZWay, ZeroBrane Studio.

Offline Z-Waver

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 4431
  • Karma: +246/-120
Re: Scenes within scenes
« Reply #4 on: February 20, 2017, 07:48:05 am »
It's Monday, I'm struggling to understand your meaning here. Are you referring to an aliasing function like:

Code: [Select]
function ExecScene (SceneNum)
    luup.call_action("urn:micasaverde-com:serviceId:HomeAutomationGateway1", "RunScene", {SceneNum = "SceneNum"}, 0)
end

Then use ExecScene(5) wherever you need to? Or are you meaning something else?

Offline akbooer

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 5116
  • Karma: +221/-67
  • "Less is more"
Re: Scenes within scenes
« Reply #5 on: February 20, 2017, 08:07:43 am »
It's Monday, I'm struggling to understand your meaning here. Are you referring to an aliasing function like:

Almost.  You just need to leave off the quotes around the SceneNum parameter...

Code: [Select]
function ExecScene (SceneNum)
    luup.call_action("urn:micasaverde-com:serviceId:HomeAutomationGateway1", "RunScene", {SceneNum = SceneNum}, 0)
end



Edit:  ...although it wouldn't have to call a scene, it could just contain the code that was in the scene.

« Last Edit: February 20, 2017, 09:26:08 am by akbooer »
3x Vera Lite-UI5/Edge-UI7, 25x Fibaro, 23x TKB, 9x MiniMote, 2x NorthQ Power, 2x Netatmo, 1x Foscam FI9831P.
Razberry, MySensors Arduino, HomeWave, AltUI, DataYours, openLuup, ZWay, ZeroBrane Studio.

Offline rafale77

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 690
  • Karma: +35/-20
Re: Scenes within scenes
« Reply #6 on: February 20, 2017, 12:43:43 pm »
That's pretty brilliant... wish I had thought about it sooner. Already created all my scenes.
127 zwave nodes, 8 zigbee nodes, 256 devices, 17 apps, 128 scenes on a Vera Plus linked with Echo and HomeKit through bridges