Author Topic: Xiaomi temp/humidity sensor  (Read 1222 times)

Offline ElCid

• Sr. Newbie
Xiaomi temp/humidity sensor
« on: March 03, 2017, 08:07:31 am »
Hi
Ive search forum and only found one thread on this.
Ive added the Xiaomi sensor to my veraplus controller as a generic zigbee device.
The problem is the device is added as a smoke alarm.
Ive tried changing the d_smokeSensor.xml to D_temperatuesensor.xml and the devicedisappears from devices when i change json file.

i'm new to vera and no alittle coding in html and PHP but JSON im not so good with any one got advice for me

Offline rafale77

Re: Xiaomi temp/humidity sensor
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2017, 11:11:13 am »
Did you change the device category, sub category, and device file as well? If not, the vera will treat your device as invalid and hide it from the UI so you can't correct it... Another "smart feature" of the UI
127 zwave nodes, 8 zigbee nodes, 256 devices, 17 apps, 128 scenes on a Vera Plus linked with Echo and HomeKit through bridges

Offline ElCid

• Sr. Newbie
« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2017, 12:15:26 pm »
In the advanced setting i've changed the device_file from D_SmokeSensor1.xml to D_TemperatueSensor1.xml.
And device_json to D_TemperatueSensor1.json.

I am very new to vera and am still finding my way around the device. Hope to figure out how to write my own json but for now trying to get the xiaomi sensor to report a temperature

p.s. is there a way to turn off verification when posting to this forum

Offline ElCid

• Sr. Newbie
« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2017, 03:18:05 pm »
Did you change the device category, sub category, and device file as well? If not, the vera will treat your device as invalid and hide it from the UI so you can't correct it... Another "smart feature" of the UI
lucky i never closed advanced settings tab so was able to return to original xml and json.

i did change number_category and sub but still it disappears. So how do i link to different xml and  json

Offline ElCid