Author Topic: Leviton DZ6HD-1RZ CONFIRMED ISSUE(S)  (Read 1948 times)

Offline tameanaka

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Karma: +0/-0
Leviton DZ6HD-1RZ CONFIRMED ISSUE(S)
« on: March 06, 2017, 02:25:34 pm »
Hi everyone, I'm pretty new to the whole z-wave scene and have now run into an issue with the new Leviton DZ6HD dimmer.  The installation and inclusion into Vera went without any issues.  I am able to control the dimmer via app and web just fine.  My issue is that its status isn't being updated if manually pressed/dimmed.  I'm very patient and have waited to see if it was just another round of polling needed, but it never updates.

I have tried manually polling via "Poll Now" under commands, but this times out.  I also have a new Leviton DZ15S and have been comparing settings, and everything is the same.  The DZ15S updates status nearly instantly and works flawlessly.

Any suggestions or troubleshooting steps? My system isn't very big at all, 6 devices so far, all well within range of controller.
« Last Edit: March 10, 2017, 12:33:16 pm by tameanaka »

Offline shallowearth

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 919
  • Karma: +42/-9
Re: Leviton DZ6HD-1RZ Help
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2017, 03:44:53 pm »
The new Leviton Decora line does not support Instant Status.
Only the more expensive Leviton Vizia RF+ supports Instant Status.

That being said the DZ6HD should eventually be update based on polling.  Not sure why it is not. You might wait until the nightly heal to see if it gets better connected into your mesh.


Offline tameanaka

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Leviton DZ6HD-1RZ Help
« Reply #2 on: March 06, 2017, 08:13:35 pm »
I'm not looking for Instant Status, just any status....

Offline Z-Waver

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 4431
  • Karma: +247/-120
Re: Leviton DZ6HD-1RZ Help
« Reply #3 on: March 07, 2017, 08:05:26 am »
I have tried manually polling via "Poll Now" under commands, but this times out.
This is a communications issue. Something is impeding the signal(range, obstruction, interference), or there is a bad route. The latter could be fixed by excluding(resetting) the device and including it anew.

Quote
My system isn't very big at all, 6 devices so far
An elevated risk of weak signal and poor mesh.

Quote
all well within range of controller.
Unless the switch is 1 or 2 meters away from the controller, I would not  make such a blanket statement. There are many possible reasons that the signal could be unable to reach what you assume to be the device's range.

I would suggest that you locate Vera and the switch 1 or 2 meters apart, exclude and include the switch, and then see if polling works. We can safely assume that Vera is good since other switches work with Vera. So, if this switch doesn't work at this short distance, then your switch is likely bad. If it does work at short range, then you've proven that you have a signal issue to overcome. You can do this by, adding devices and improving the mesh, relocating devices to improve signal quality, eliminating obstacles and interference...

Offline tameanaka

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Leviton DZ6HD-1RZ Help
« Reply #4 on: March 07, 2017, 09:38:17 am »
Thank You.

I have tried excluding/including, and resetting switch to defaults previously with no differing results.

I will check again this evening as it will have been over 24hrs since install.  It just seems strange that it will work just fine when sending commands via the app or web, but not the other way around.

I will try moving Vera closer to make final determination this evening as well.

Offline tameanaka

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Leviton DZ6HD-1RZ Help
« Reply #5 on: March 07, 2017, 05:43:13 pm »
Update:

I've checked for status updates with Vera in original location:  No Updates when physically used, Cannot Poll via "Poll Now" (Time Out).

Moved Vera within 3ft: No Updates when physically used, Cannot Poll via "Poll Now" (Time Out).

Bought a new switch, swapped it out, included just fine, can control via app/web perfectly: No updates when physically used, Cannot Poll via "Poll Now" (Time Out).  I should add that Vera is still within 3ft

So what are the chances of having two bad switches...

What else can I do?  I include it as a generic z-wave device and it is auto configured.  What can I try and change to make it work?

I've also reached out to Leviton, but they have no immediate suggestions. My issue is being forwarded on.
« Last Edit: March 07, 2017, 06:11:35 pm by tameanaka »

Offline Z-Waver

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 4431
  • Karma: +247/-120
Re: Leviton DZ6HD-1RZ Help
« Reply #6 on: March 07, 2017, 06:09:42 pm »
So what are the chances of having two bad switches...

What else can I do?  I include it as a generic z-wave device and it is auto configured.  What can I try and change to make it work?
The chance of two bad switches seems pretty slim. I don't know what else you could do, your include procedure is correct. Regardless of status, you should be able to manually Poll Now. Assuming the switch is not bad, a timeout indicates a communication problem.

Offline tameanaka

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Leviton DZ6HD-1RZ Help
« Reply #7 on: March 07, 2017, 07:25:12 pm »
Another issue I've found..and PITA.  The switch has a fade-on fade-off feature as well as memory of dimming level.  When the virtual on/off switch is used on the app or web, the light comes on 100% and immediately. So no soft-on or off and loss of memory.

Physically these features work just fine.  Not sure if this is something typical for Vera of just this particular switch.

I noticed as well, that both the DZ6HD and DZ15S don't have any values for Neighbors when all my other devices do. Is that normal to not have any?
« Last Edit: March 08, 2017, 06:02:52 pm by tameanaka »

Offline echino

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 91
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Leviton DZ6HD-1RZ Help
« Reply #8 on: March 08, 2017, 07:33:37 pm »
The new Leviton Decora line does not support Instant Status.
Only the more expensive Leviton Vizia RF+ supports Instant Status.

Are there any available switches or dimmers that are Z-Wave Plus, and support Instant Status on Vera Plus? I think this does not exist.

Offline jswim788

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 538
  • Karma: +29/-2
Re: Leviton DZ6HD-1RZ Help
« Reply #9 on: March 08, 2017, 08:14:26 pm »
There are some mixed reports in this thread that indicate the Homeseer HS-WD100+ might work with the Vera Plus with instant status.  There is some discussion in that thread regarding the central scene for the single/double/triple tap (not likely to work with Vera) and the instant status (some say it works, others not).  I don't have a Vera Plus to test.  http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,37061.msg294336.html#msg294336

Offline tameanaka

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Leviton DZ6HD-1RZ Help
« Reply #10 on: March 10, 2017, 10:00:29 am »
Received a response from Leviton:

"Thank you for bringing the issue with Vera to our attention.  While we pair our devices with a number of Z-Wave hubs during testing we also rely on Z-Wave certification to ensure our devices will work correctly in the Z-Wave echo system.  We are able to confirm that the Vera is not taking advantage of the 2-way capability in the device and is relying on polling.
 
We are now reaching out to Vera to review and work towards a quick resolution for future Vera releases.
 
Once again Thank You for your valuable feedback."


Hope things get figured out sooner than later

Offline somthingobscure

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Leviton DZ6HD-1RZ CONFIRMED ISSUE(S)
« Reply #11 on: March 19, 2017, 11:23:34 am »
Any update on this?

I have three of the DZ6HD dimmers with the same issue, no status updates when manually toggled, and cannot poll.  I also have two DZ15S switches that work fine, relatively fast status updates and such.

Offline hax0rmort

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 110
  • Karma: +9/-5
Re: Leviton DZ6HD-1RZ Help
« Reply #12 on: March 19, 2017, 12:49:48 pm »
 I have the same issue with my two decora lamp dimmers (non rf+)they are just completely unreliable with Vera Plus compared to Wink/Wink2.  Same drop off/and then I cannot communicate with the dimmer again, ever, until I delete device and repair.

side note: it's funny to hear from Leviton on this Vera issue, hilarious.  Never know what to really believe unless one is all knowing.



Received a response from Leviton:

"Thank you for bringing the issue with Vera to our attention.  While we pair our devices with a number of Z-Wave hubs during testing we also rely on Z-Wave certification to ensure our devices will work correctly in the Z-Wave echo system.  We are able to confirm that the Vera is not taking advantage of the 2-way capability in the device and is relying on polling.
 
We are now reaching out to Vera to review and work towards a quick resolution for future Vera releases.
 
Once again Thank You for your valuable feedback."


Hope things get figured out sooner than later

Offline bobw331

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Leviton DZ6HD-1RZ CONFIRMED ISSUE(S)
« Reply #13 on: March 20, 2017, 10:12:12 am »
Same issue with the dimmer and Vera 3 UI7

Offline tameanaka

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Leviton DZ6HD-1RZ CONFIRMED ISSUE(S)
« Reply #14 on: March 20, 2017, 09:55:53 pm »
No, haven't heard anything and I won't. I followed up but it's unfortunately in Leviton and Vera's hands.

I was in contact with Vera and they basically said we can expect support "possibly" in two updates...first is at end of April. So in my limited experience I'd say July if we win the lottery.

Waiting for support isn't my thing so I have since returned all my Leviton devices.  When full support is finally available (probably 2018 lol) I'll consider purchasing again.