Author Topic: Proper way to link two switches?  (Read 258 times)

Offline tadr

Proper way to link two switches?
« on: March 09, 2017, 09:46:51 am »
I would like to link two Leviton switches. Each switch controls a different local load - stair lights and hall lights. When either is turned on, I want the other to turn on. When either is turned off, I want the other to turn off.

I currently have 4 scenes (stair lights on, stair lights off, hall lights on, hall lights off) that are triggered by the stair/hall light switches getting turned on/off. For example, whenever stair lights are turned on, turn on hall lights, etc.

I feel like there should be an easier way to do this -- perhaps with associations.  Can someone point me in the right direction? I've never done anything with associations before.

Offline RogerO

Re: Proper way to link two switches?
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2017, 12:42:41 pm »
I did that using Pleg once. Not sure about associations though.

Offline shallowearth

« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2017, 01:40:04 pm »
Yes, you want to use direct association for this, that way it works, even if Vera is offline.

See this article on how to configure http://www.vesternet.com/resources/application-notes/apnt-19#.WMGg14WcHZs  (looks for Vera UI7 section).
You want to use Group 1.  You need to set the association on the stair switch to the hall switch,  then do it form the hall switch to the stair switch (use group 1 for both).

Side note, you might want to keep the scenes in place as a backup (if the swtiches are far apart from each other you can have issues)

This will only work if your Levitons are the Vizia RF models, the newer Leviton Decora Z-waves don't support direction association.

Offline wilme2

« Reply #3 on: March 09, 2017, 02:47:18 pm »
This will only work if your Levitons are the Vizia RF models, the newer Leviton Decora Z-waves don't support direction association.