We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: Christmas Lights off when raining  (Read 4210 times)

Offline mikemsd

Christmas Lights off when raining
« on: December 04, 2010, 12:18:20 pm »
In case anyone wants to do something similar, I thought I would share my LUA code. There's probably a better way to write this, but I'm an amateur. If anyone has any suggestions for me on how to possibly better write this, I'd appreciate comments.

This first one is set to run 15 Minutes before Sunset and 1 Hour before Sunrise. It checks if one of the various rain conditions is active, and if so, it doesn't bother turning the lights on.

Code: [Select]
local lul_tmp = luup.variable_get("urn:upnp-micasaverde-com:serviceId:Weather1","Condition",9)
if (lul_tmp=="Showers" or lul_tmp=="Rain" or lul_tmp=="Rain Showers" or lul_tmp=="Thunderstorm" or lul_tmp=="Scattered Showers" or lul_tmp=="Light rain" or lul_tmp=="Heavy Rain" or lul_tmp=="Rain and Snow")
then
else
  luup.call_action("urn:upnp-org:serviceId:SwitchPower1","SetTarget",{ newTargetValue="1" },15)
end

This second one is set to run every 5 minutes to see if it has started raining, and if so, turn off the lights.

Code: [Select]
local lul_tmp = luup.variable_get("urn:upnp-micasaverde-com:serviceId:Weather1","Condition",9)
if (lul_tmp=="Showers" or lul_tmp=="Rain" or lul_tmp=="Rain Showers" or lul_tmp=="Thunderstorm" or lul_tmp=="Scattered Showers" or lul_tmp=="Light rain" or lul_tmp=="Heavy Rain" or lul_tmp=="Rain and Snow")
then
  luup.call_action("urn:upnp-org:serviceId:SwitchPower1","SetTarget",{ newTargetValue="0" },15)
end

There is a third scene that runs at Midnight, and also at 15 Minutes after Sunrise to turn off the Lights.
Vera2 (UI4 1.5.408), 2x Trane Thermostats, 9x GE 45606 Dimmers, 1x GE 45613 3-Way Dimmer kit, 1x Intermatic HA04 Outdoor Module, 1x Intermatic HA09 Remote.

Offline guessed

• Community Beta
  • Master Member
  • Release compat is not a bolted-on afterthought