We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: TED5000 Plugin  (Read 64054 times)

Offline woodsby

  • Beta Testers
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 466
  • Karma: +1/-0
TED5000 Plugin
« on: January 17, 2011, 12:14:37 pm »
Here is a simple TED5000 plugin that displays current voltage and wattage usage on user-set intervals, as well as voltage and wattage goes below/above events for scenes and notifications.  To install, download below and unzip. Under MiOS Developers > Luup Files, scroll down to the bottom of the page, and browse to all of the TED plugin files.  Click the box "Restart luup after upload" and click "Go".  After uploading, click the "Create Device"
 tab. Under UpnpDevFilename, enter "D_TED5000.xml".  Under Description, name your device. Select a room, and click "Create Device".  Close the MiOS Developers window, and click Save.  You may need to restart your browser.  The first time this plugin runs, it will Auto-Discover your TED5000 gateway, so it may take up to a minute.  If you are running UI4, V1.1183, and you download v13 or later of this plugin, auto-discovery will only run the first time the device is loaded. Previous versions will auto-discover every time Vera restarts the luup engine, unless the IP address is manually entered in the device's Advanced page.
A couple of notes - this plugin defaults to updates on 60 second intevals. This can be changed by clicking the device's wrench, and going to the Advanced tab.  This also defaults to MTU 1.  This can also be changed under the device's Advanced page.
Finally, if you use Vera's energy profiling on cp.mios.com, this data will load into that.  However, if you are already using this functionality through energy values manually entered in your device settings, this will probably just add to those values... making an assumption here.

EDIT:
TED5000-11 - Autodiscovery.
TED5000-12 - Negative Wattage and Cost Values
TED5000-13 - *** UI4 1.1183+ ONLY *** Autodiscovery only runs once
« Last Edit: February 05, 2011, 02:59:53 pm by woodsby »
Vera1 (1.1142), Vera2 (1.1182), VRI06 (12), VRS15 (3), VRS05 (2), VRF01 (2), VRCS4 (2), ZRW113, ZRF113 (2), 45602, 45603, TZMT400 (2), FE599 (2), 99100, Thinkstick, Harmony 890Pro (2), Harmony RF Extender, Nevo S70, Nevo NC-50, Minimote, SQ Remote, SQ Blaster, EtherRain-8, Cliste ActiveRFID, TED5002

Offline garrettwp

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 6371
  • Karma: +227/-128
  • Vera 3, Lite, ISY994
Re: TED5000 Plugin
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2011, 12:22:46 pm »
Woodsby great work. Now I need to pick up a ted5000. How is the device holding up? Worth the cost?

- Garrett

Offline woodsby

  • Beta Testers
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 466
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: TED5000 Plugin
« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2011, 12:34:57 pm »
Seems ok.  I read the reviews - seems the biggest complaint is too much noise on the house wiring so the MTU transmissions weren't getting to the Gateway.  I installed an outlet beside my panel fed off one of the two poles feeding the MTU, so I shouldn't have any problems there.  We'll see how close it is to my bill next month - i plugged in my tiered rate as well, so we'll see how that does.  I will eventually add a MTD Cost value to this plugin.
Vera1 (1.1142), Vera2 (1.1182), VRI06 (12), VRS15 (3), VRS05 (2), VRF01 (2), VRCS4 (2), ZRW113, ZRF113 (2), 45602, 45603, TZMT400 (2), FE599 (2), 99100, Thinkstick, Harmony 890Pro (2), Harmony RF Extender, Nevo S70, Nevo NC-50, Minimote, SQ Remote, SQ Blaster, EtherRain-8, Cliste ActiveRFID, TED5002

Offline strangely

  • Beta Testers
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3722
  • Karma: +34/-2
  • Vera 1,3 & V light
Re: TED5000 Plugin
« Reply #3 on: January 17, 2011, 01:00:17 pm »
please note the current beta releases do not allow multiple copies of the same luup device to be created,

I had an issue a few versions back with trying to install a second IPserial plugin for an extra WIZnet; despite many tries, I couldn't get it to work! What I ended up doing was rolling back to 1.1.1047, installing the second plugin, and then after confirming everything was working, rolled back up to the latest and greatest where it remained working fine!

A pain in the arse and little bit risky but it worked for me!
Kwickset locks, HA01C, HA14C, HA02C, HA03C, HA05C, HA04C, HA07C, HA09C, Aeon HEM, GE 45604, 45606, 45609, ZDP100, VRF01-1LZ, WDTC-20, HA18WD, WDHA-12R, HRDS1, HM-TS001, AC1-ZW, TV-IP110, BL-C210A, LUUP control- EtherRain8, DSC Alarm, HDMI matrix, HR24-200, Panasonic TV, SQblaster

Offline JOD

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1973
  • Karma: +4/-0
Re: TED5000 Plugin
« Reply #4 on: January 17, 2011, 01:28:15 pm »
@woodsby,

It's working GREAT!! I changed the poll rate to 5 secs. Nice work..

Anyone want an AEON HEM (50% off retail)   ;D

*Edit.
a) Using scenes and the "Energy usage goes above" X watts works as well as an E-Mon D-Mon system to help load shed!!

b) Using the "Voltage goes below" X watts can now send a notification of power outage.

Thank you woodsby....

JOD.
« Last Edit: April 17, 2011, 11:50:43 am by JOD »
I'm sorry, my responses are limited. You must ask the right questions.

Offline wseverino

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 854
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Da Man, Da Myth, Da Legend - in his own mind!
Re: TED5000 Plugin
« Reply #5 on: January 17, 2011, 01:30:48 pm »
Make that 2 AEON's for SALE!!!!. 50 bucks and its yours!!!
My ZWave Network: Too friggin big to list.....

Offline woodsby

  • Beta Testers
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 466
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: TED5000 Plugin
« Reply #6 on: January 17, 2011, 02:31:30 pm »
I just got the UDP broadcast figured out... I'll probably add autodiscovery of the TED gateway to this plugin tomorrow or the next day.
Vera1 (1.1142), Vera2 (1.1182), VRI06 (12), VRS15 (3), VRS05 (2), VRF01 (2), VRCS4 (2), ZRW113, ZRF113 (2), 45602, 45603, TZMT400 (2), FE599 (2), 99100, Thinkstick, Harmony 890Pro (2), Harmony RF Extender, Nevo S70, Nevo NC-50, Minimote, SQ Remote, SQ Blaster, EtherRain-8, Cliste ActiveRFID, TED5002

Offline saf101

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 40
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: TED5000 Plugin
« Reply #7 on: January 17, 2011, 05:31:46 pm »
I just have to say thank you for this plugin..... one of the reason I purchased VERA was when I called MCV they told me they had a plugin for TED5000 but that was not true. I'm not a developer but if I can help in anyway please feel free to contact me. I install without issues but it looks like the IP addr field only supports x.x.x.x not porting x.x.x.x:xxxxx once I pulled the port addr off it worked Thank you again

Offline anthonyris

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 250
  • Karma: +6/-1
Re: TED5000 Plugin
« Reply #8 on: January 18, 2011, 12:55:42 pm »
OK, had a chance to install/test. Nice! Appreciate the contribution greatly here.

Couple of things:
- IP + Port number worked fine for me (192.168.1.xxx:5000).
- My rig is set up for Net Metering (Solar), so MTU1 outputs Adjusted Load for the plugin. Just an FYI. See attached pics showing TED's readings for MTU1&2.
- When the watts change significantly (300w chandelier goes on), your plugin shows some odd numbers. Apparently I am using ~4 Billion watts... See attached Pic... ;-)

.//A.


I just got the UDP broadcast figured out... I'll probably add autodiscovery of the TED gateway to this plugin tomorrow or the next day.
Vera3x2, Leviton, GE dimmers, relays and lamp modules, Sonos, Nests...

Offline woodsby

  • Beta Testers
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 466
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: TED5000 Plugin
« Reply #9 on: January 18, 2011, 01:25:03 pm »
I have two sets of MTU's, but don't have mine set up as Net Metering.  I'll play around with that when I get a chance.

That's odd that you're seeing such large numbers... I've watched my demand increase more than 300W and not seen it get that way.  Does that happen frequently?  How frequently?  I'm curious because I may ask you to grab me a sample of the raw data pulled from your TED gateway (I can provide you with some instructions).  If it's happening more than once a minute, I'd just need a minute sample, if it's happening once an hour, I'd need a much larger sample...

What version of the UI are you running on your Vera?  I've been testing on the latest betas.  I am wondering if it's something in the raw data that's coming from TED or if it's something in the Vera UI.  Also, are you running the latest firmware on your TED?
Vera1 (1.1142), Vera2 (1.1182), VRI06 (12), VRS15 (3), VRS05 (2), VRF01 (2), VRCS4 (2), ZRW113, ZRF113 (2), 45602, 45603, TZMT400 (2), FE599 (2), 99100, Thinkstick, Harmony 890Pro (2), Harmony RF Extender, Nevo S70, Nevo NC-50, Minimote, SQ Remote, SQ Blaster, EtherRain-8, Cliste ActiveRFID, TED5002

Offline anthonyris

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 250
  • Karma: +6/-1
Re: TED5000 Plugin
« Reply #10 on: January 18, 2011, 03:47:59 pm »
I'll keep an eye on it and do some more methodical discovery/reproduction on the problem if possible. I have *not* seen that spike misbehavior via Footprints or Google PowerMeter, only on the Vera plugin.

As for firmware versions:
Vera: 1.1.1047
TED: Gateway 1.0.383, Footprints 1.0210

.//A.

I have two sets of MTU's, but don't have mine set up as Net Metering.  I'll play around with that when I get a chance.

That's odd that you're seeing such large numbers... I've watched my demand increase more than 300W and not seen it get that way.  Does that happen frequently?  How frequently?  I'm curious because I may ask you to grab me a sample of the raw data pulled from your TED gateway (I can provide you with some instructions).  If it's happening more than once a minute, I'd just need a minute sample, if it's happening once an hour, I'd need a much larger sample...

What version of the UI are you running on your Vera?  I've been testing on the latest betas.  I am wondering if it's something in the raw data that's coming from TED or if it's something in the Vera UI.  Also, are you running the latest firmware on your TED?
Vera3x2, Leviton, GE dimmers, relays and lamp modules, Sonos, Nests...

Offline woodsby

  • Beta Testers
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 466
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: TED5000 Plugin
« Reply #11 on: January 18, 2011, 03:55:18 pm »
I imagine both google and footprints use the livedata xml file.  This plugin  use raw data second history which is much quicker to poll.  So, we may be dealing with two different sets of values.  I am on the same fw as you so I'm guessing it's not a problem on the ted side.  I don't have a 1047 box to test on either.  I'll message you with something that might help identify the problem.  I appreciate the help.
Vera1 (1.1142), Vera2 (1.1182), VRI06 (12), VRS15 (3), VRS05 (2), VRF01 (2), VRCS4 (2), ZRW113, ZRF113 (2), 45602, 45603, TZMT400 (2), FE599 (2), 99100, Thinkstick, Harmony 890Pro (2), Harmony RF Extender, Nevo S70, Nevo NC-50, Minimote, SQ Remote, SQ Blaster, EtherRain-8, Cliste ActiveRFID, TED5002

Offline garrettwp

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 6371
  • Karma: +227/-128
  • Vera 3, Lite, ISY994
Re: TED5000 Plugin
« Reply #12 on: January 19, 2011, 02:02:57 am »
So I want to pick up a TED 5000 and confused on which to get. I have a 200amp panel and just put in a sub panel for my new home theater room. There are so many kits being offered on their web site. Would I just need the kit that has two mtu's to put on each leg? Or would I also need something for the sub panel? I am more interested in watching the whole house usage and not worried about fine tuning and getting exact details from the sub panel. The sub panel only has a 15 and 20 amp breaker to power outlets in the room and my equipment. Is the TED display unit worth the extra cost?

- Garrett

Offline anthonyris

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 250
  • Karma: +6/-1
Re: TED5000 Plugin
« Reply #13 on: January 19, 2011, 12:23:25 pm »
Unless you want to monitor the sub-panel specifically, you don't need to install anything on it. The main panel and its two legs will give you whole-house energy usage.

So for your setup, you would just need the TED 5000-G (1 MTU, 1 pair of CTs and 1 Gateway).

As for the Display, I have one but I think it's superfluous. The Footprint web pages + smartphone apps give me way more than the display does (and one less thing to plug in somewhere...).

.//A.

So I want to pick up a TED 5000 and confused on which to get. I have a 200amp panel and just put in a sub panel for my new home theater room. There are so many kits being offered on their web site. Would I just need the kit that has two mtu's to put on each leg? Or would I also need something for the sub panel? I am more interested in watching the whole house usage and not worried about fine tuning and getting exact details from the sub panel. The sub panel only has a 15 and 20 amp breaker to power outlets in the room and my equipment. Is the TED display unit worth the extra cost?

- Garrett
Vera3x2, Leviton, GE dimmers, relays and lamp modules, Sonos, Nests...

Offline anthonyris

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 250
  • Karma: +6/-1
Re: TED5000 Plugin
« Reply #14 on: January 19, 2011, 01:19:28 pm »
OK, got some data for you. I logged into Vera (cp.mios.com) and saw the bizarro Watt reading.
Took a few readings from the .raw URL you sent, and took a few screenshots.


Interestingly, in the Settings for your plugin, the correct watts are displayed in the text filed ("Vera-CorrectWatts...png")

Can't post images in PM, so screenshots here (.raw data in PM):



I imagine both google and footprints use the livedata xml file.  This plugin  use raw data second history which is much quicker to poll.  So, we may be dealing with two different sets of values.  I am on the same fw as you so I'm guessing it's not a problem on the ted side.  I don't have a 1047 box to test on either.  I'll message you with something that might help identify the problem.  I appreciate the help.
Vera3x2, Leviton, GE dimmers, relays and lamp modules, Sonos, Nests...