Author Topic: "Uninclude" Devices from Old Vera, Include on Vera Plus  (Read 582 times)

Offline ckqualls

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
"Uninclude" Devices from Old Vera, Include on Vera Plus
« on: February 02, 2018, 06:54:55 pm »
My first generation Vera bit the dust. I just received a new Vera Plus.

I need to "Uninclude" my old devices, using the new Vera Plus, as the old Vera is dead.

How?

Thanks.

Offline HSD99

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 255
  • Karma: +8/-0
Re: "Uninclude" Devices from Old Vera, Include on Vera Plus
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2018, 08:17:19 pm »
I think the easiest way would be to install the ALTUI app. Under the controllers submenu, it has a button for exclusion.  The process in UI7 is convoluted and assumes you are trying to exclude a device that has been included on your system.

Offline Z-Waver

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 4437
  • Karma: +247/-120
Re: "Uninclude" Devices from Old Vera, Include on Vera Plus
« Reply #2 on: February 03, 2018, 04:59:52 pm »
Using the UI7 GUI follow the procedure to Include your switch.

While your Vera is in Include mode and is failing to find a device, don't wait for it to time out, click Next. Your Vera will then switch to Exclude mode and you can Exclude your switch.

Offline kwieto

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 557
  • Karma: +27/-12
Re: "Uninclude" Devices from Old Vera, Include on Vera Plus
« Reply #3 on: February 04, 2018, 01:21:52 pm »
You can do it by pressing Vera Plus buttons in certain sequence

1. Make sure the VeraPlus is powered on and booted up. Network connection is not necessary for this process.
2. Press the "select" button until the zwave light is flashing.
3. Now press and hold the "sync" button for three seconds.
4. You'll notice that the z-wave light is now flashing and is now in EXCLUSION MODE.
5. You can exclude as many devices subsequently as needed in this mode (I had to do this to all of my devices as they all paired to my old Veralite).
6. Pay attention to the status light in the VeraPlus as it will change briefly to indicate that a device was excluded.
(...)
10. Once finished, press and hold the "sync" button for three seconds.


Full recipe (including how to go to the inclusion mode) can be found here:
http://forum.micasaverde.com/index.php/topic,36436.msg336288.html#msg336288

Offline ckqualls

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: "Uninclude" Devices from Old Vera, Include on Vera Plus
« Reply #4 on: February 05, 2018, 04:05:42 am »
Thanks. Now, my other problem is, I have switches of different makes, and they've been in for a while, and I don't have the owner manuals any longer. What's the most common include/exclude procedure?  I"m assuming holding it on for x number of seconds?

Offline kwieto

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 557
  • Karma: +27/-12
Re: "Uninclude" Devices from Old Vera, Include on Vera Plus
« Reply #5 on: February 05, 2018, 09:52:21 am »
Typically it is press and hold or press number of times.
You can find most manuals on the internet, although not necessarily on producer's webpage.

Offline Don Phillips

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1291
  • Karma: +33/-32
Re: "Uninclude" Devices from Old Vera, Include on Vera Plus
« Reply #6 on: February 05, 2018, 07:52:11 pm »
I got in the habit of downloading manuals years ago to save file space and finding the manuals faster.
Vera 3, 1.7.1030, CT101 t-stat, Everspring motion detector, GE/Jasco switch, Leviton outlet, AeonLabs sensor, NuTone garage door, Blue Iris, Sricam SP011, iPhone locator, APCUPSD, VeraMate, VeraAlerts, PLEG, House Modes, Countdown Timer, DVR, Virtual/Multi Switch, Weatherunderground, LB60Z-1 bulb

Offline ckqualls

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: "Uninclude" Devices from Old Vera, Include on Vera Plus
« Reply #7 on: February 12, 2018, 09:39:12 am »
Pressing Select button, no lights ever illuminated. I am able to connect to Vera via web browser, though. Bad controller?