We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: Water shut off valve  (Read 25848 times)

Offline Da_JoJo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1380
  • Karma: +16/-78
  • If something aint work, we can allways try n make
Re: Water shut off valve
« Reply #15 on: July 21, 2013, 09:52:11 pm »
Quote
found it!!!

it's in the WV-01 Instructions:

This means you have the valve installed in water alarm mode, which will not allow the valve to open with the same basic set command. This is a security feature set so that a water sensor detecting a leak doesn't continually open and close the valve (as the command the sensor sends is the same for open or close). The zwave gateway should be sending a smart command and not a basic set.

One way you can get around this is to set the water valve up in water level mode (irrigation mode). This way, the same basic set command will open or close the valve. Instructions on this and explanation can be found in the user manual on page 6.
To switch between water alarm mode and water level mode prior to inclusion in the network, do the following:
i. Hold the program button down for 1 or more seconds
ii. While still holding the program button, press the open button (for water level mode) or the close button (for water alarm mode)

Note: This button press sequence is not available after network inclusion. See page 7 for configuration change after network inclusion.

this was mentioned to make it work
the relay is probably not implemented in the apple app u have.
Vera lite (1.5.622), 2x an-158/2, dead usb pl2302 rs-232, 2x greenwave 6 port, 4x Fibaro FGD211 v1.6, FGBS001, few FGS - 221, etc. AuthomationHD 3 for android :-)
Dutch & German translator http://wiki.micasaverde.com/index.php/Special:AllPages http://support.micasaverde.com http://domotica-shop.nl

Offline bd8134

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Water shut off valve
« Reply #16 on: July 21, 2013, 10:07:56 pm »
I actually just tried it again and it works.
Using the Run in schedule closed the valve and also making the contacts wet on a Fortezz water sensor worked.
So thank you for that.

One other item I hope you can help me with.
It shows the status correctly when the valve closes.
However when the sensor detects no water Vera seems to try to Open the valve, which fails, I believe because of the mode I have the valve set to.
I do not want Vera to try open the valve, I will open the valve when I have checked for no water.
How can set this?

Offline Da_JoJo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1380
  • Karma: +16/-78
  • If something aint work, we can allways try n make
Re: Water shut off valve
« Reply #17 on: July 21, 2013, 10:22:16 pm »
a trigger for water sensor and set to sensor non-tripped and in the same scene press the open valve button on the valve device will make it auto-open the valve when no water is detected by the watersensor. i have no such devices so i dont know what it does in vera. dont know if this is what you want either as it will leave the valve open as long as the watersensor is not tripped. i would set it for watersensor tripped and close valve.
« Last Edit: July 21, 2013, 10:23:47 pm by Da_JoJo »
Vera lite (1.5.622), 2x an-158/2, dead usb pl2302 rs-232, 2x greenwave 6 port, 4x Fibaro FGD211 v1.6, FGBS001, few FGS - 221, etc. AuthomationHD 3 for android :-)
Dutch & German translator http://wiki.micasaverde.com/index.php/Special:AllPages http://support.micasaverde.com http://domotica-shop.nl

Offline bd8134

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Water shut off valve
« Reply #18 on: July 21, 2013, 10:31:50 pm »
I have just the one scene set.
Water detected close the water valve.

It seems if the alarm trips the water valve closes, when the sensor detects no water, Vera tries to open the valve.
I do not want Vera to try to open valve.

Offline Da_JoJo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1380
  • Karma: +16/-78
  • If something aint work, we can allways try n make
Re: Water shut off valve
« Reply #19 on: July 22, 2013, 07:38:15 am »
then most probably you have set it somewhere to do that. pls check ur triggers/scenes
Vera lite (1.5.622), 2x an-158/2, dead usb pl2302 rs-232, 2x greenwave 6 port, 4x Fibaro FGD211 v1.6, FGBS001, few FGS - 221, etc. AuthomationHD 3 for android :-)
Dutch & German translator http://wiki.micasaverde.com/index.php/Special:AllPages http://support.micasaverde.com http://domotica-shop.nl

Offline bd8134

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Water shut off valve
« Reply #20 on: July 22, 2013, 08:44:35 am »
I only have the one scene set which is to turn off the valve when water is detected.
Do I need to set another scene when I get a "no leak detected" signal.
This is what the Fortezz WWA-02AA (which I am using) sends when water is no longer detected after it detected water?

Offline Da_JoJo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1380
  • Karma: +16/-78
  • If something aint work, we can allways try n make
Re: Water shut off valve
« Reply #21 on: July 22, 2013, 08:53:02 am »
if the water is detected by floodsensor and the valve turned off, it would need a triggered scene to turn it on again when there is no water anymore. 
depends on what you want to accomplish here. vera wont automaticly turn it back on when you did not tell it to do so. you just told me vera tries to open the valve and you do not want this and now you tell me you do want it lol
Vera lite (1.5.622), 2x an-158/2, dead usb pl2302 rs-232, 2x greenwave 6 port, 4x Fibaro FGD211 v1.6, FGBS001, few FGS - 221, etc. AuthomationHD 3 for android :-)
Dutch & German translator http://wiki.micasaverde.com/index.php/Special:AllPages http://support.micasaverde.com http://domotica-shop.nl

Offline bd8134

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Water shut off valve
« Reply #22 on: July 22, 2013, 09:18:59 am »
I want the water valve to turn off when water is detected and stay off.
I will turn the water valve back on manually when I have checked that water is no longer present.
I do not want Vera to turn the valve back to on and this is what is happening.
How do I stop Vera trying to turn the water valve back on?

Offline Da_JoJo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1380
  • Karma: +16/-78
  • If something aint work, we can allways try n make
Re: Water shut off valve
« Reply #23 on: July 22, 2013, 09:22:21 am »
my guess is that somehow you have the scene for it not configured correctly. vera does only do things when stuff in the scene is met the conditions it was given.
Vera lite (1.5.622), 2x an-158/2, dead usb pl2302 rs-232, 2x greenwave 6 port, 4x Fibaro FGD211 v1.6, FGBS001, few FGS - 221, etc. AuthomationHD 3 for android :-)
Dutch & German translator http://wiki.micasaverde.com/index.php/Special:AllPages http://support.micasaverde.com http://domotica-shop.nl

Offline Da_JoJo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1380
  • Karma: +16/-78
  • If something aint work, we can allways try n make
Re: Water shut off valve
« Reply #24 on: July 22, 2013, 10:24:47 am »
for example : you make a scene so that it would set 2 lights , light1 on 50% and light2 on 60%. when you press the run scene button it would set the 2 lights, 1 to 50% and 2 to 60%
but whenever you set the light1 to 50% and light2 to 60% manually by yourselfs, it would set the scene you made to active and thus so do the actions you put in that scene. its bit strange but that is how the vera works.
Vera lite (1.5.622), 2x an-158/2, dead usb pl2302 rs-232, 2x greenwave 6 port, 4x Fibaro FGD211 v1.6, FGBS001, few FGS - 221, etc. AuthomationHD 3 for android :-)
Dutch & German translator http://wiki.micasaverde.com/index.php/Special:AllPages http://support.micasaverde.com http://domotica-shop.nl

Offline tvipond

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Water shut off valve
« Reply #25 on: August 15, 2013, 11:09:42 pm »
Okay, I've read the comments here and had thought I'd found the answer to my problem. First, I was having the same problem...I could close the valve but could not nre-open it. I was definitely in water alarm mode. I tried changing the urn and device type to relay as explained. The relay device now is active and it says open and close as opposed to on and off. Same effect, I can close but not re-open the valve. I then deleted the device, removed it from my z-wave network. I then followed the instructions to change the mode if the valve. While not included, press and hold the mode button for 1+ seconds then press open. This then gives me 3 quick flashes indication it us in water level mode and not water alarm mode. Then I included it into my zwave network again ang it again gets installed as an appliance module with on and off as options. Once again I can not re-open the valve. I tried one more time to change the device to a relay and till no luck.

Anybody know what I am missing?

Offline tvipond

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Water shut off valve
« Reply #26 on: August 15, 2013, 11:13:27 pm »
After re-reading my message, it is apparent I am missing a spell checker!  Sorry!

Offline bd8134

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Water shut off valve
« Reply #27 on: August 28, 2013, 09:40:28 pm »
I have been working with micasaverda support and my Fortrezz water valve is now working well with 5 Fortrezz water sensors, siren, in water alarm mode.
It is hooked up to the water supply in my house and closes the valve when water is detected by the valve probe or the water sensors and sounds the siren / light.
Support found my valve was setup in water level mode which stops the wired probe from working when included with the Vera.




Offline bd8134

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Water shut off valve
« Reply #28 on: August 28, 2013, 10:10:53 pm »
Okay, I've read the comments here and had thought I'd found the answer to my problem. First, I was having the same problem...I could close the valve but could not nre-open it. I was definitely in water alarm mode. I tried changing the urn and device type to relay as explained. The relay device now is active and it says open and close as opposed to on and off. Same effect, I can close but not re-open the valve. I then deleted the device, removed it from my z-wave network. I then followed the instructions to change the mode if the valve. While not included, press and hold the mode button for 1+ seconds then press open. This then gives me 3 quick flashes indication it us in water level mode and not water alarm mode. Then I included it into my zwave network again ang it again gets installed as an appliance module with on and off as options. Once again I can not re-open the valve. I tried one more time to change the device to a relay and till no luck.

Anybody know what I am missing?
I am not sure but I may have been in water level mode all the time, but I was never able to remotely open the valve.
You can check from Vera I believe what mode the valve is running in...
Go to Device Options from your Vera water valve device.
Click 'Add configuration settings', enter 0 - monitor only - 0.
Hit the X to close the device settings box and save the settings to load it.
Go back into the device, Device Options, and read what value the valve has returned.
If the value is 255 it is running in water level mode, 0 it is running water alarm.
You can also change the valves mode from this screen also..
'Add configuration setting', 0 - 1 byte hex - "0 or FF"
Also read the Fortrezz water valve documentation, page 6 in mine,
".... but will also open when receiving a Basic Set Command after a pre-configured delay (default=60 minutes)"
Maybe the delay is causing you not to open the valve.
Have you tried after 60 minutes?
You can also change this value to another value in device options like above.

Offline tvipond

  • Sr. Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Water shut off valve
« Reply #29 on: September 06, 2013, 02:29:56 pm »
Bd, thanks for the further help...I will try some of the things you suggested.

 I believe the valve is in level mode since my previous efforts. The probes used to close the valve but since my change of modes at the valve itself, the probes no longer respond...which is good because I don't need them to do anything. Maybe Vera doesn't think it's in that mode, even though I deleted the device and re-included it, so being able to confirm Vera's knowledge of the mode will be helpful.

You mentioned that you can change the mode from Vera. Does this actually change the mode of the valve or does it only change the mode and method that Vera uses to control and communicate with the valve?

Terry