We have moved at community.getvera.com

Author Topic: Home Care Plugin  (Read 10307 times)

Offline Ap15e

  • Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1998
  • Karma: +12/-0
Home Care Plugin
« on: May 11, 2011, 05:31:54 am »
@mcvflorin

Is the Home Care Plugin publicly available?

Offline mcvflorin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1755
  • Karma: +11/-3
Re: Home Care Plugin
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2011, 05:54:13 am »
It is now. Since this is one of my first plugins, it's far from perfect and can be improved greatly. I plan to add support for other devices besides security sensors in the near future.
« Last Edit: May 11, 2011, 06:05:06 am by mcvflorin »

Offline huogas

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 301
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Home Care Plugin
« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2011, 07:27:21 am »
@mcvflorin

If you talk about the one in"code.mios.com", it goes to " Welcome to Trac 0.11.6 " without any specific information about the "Home care plugin" (at least in my case). You could maybe have a lokk at it ?

Based on your understanding, what is the differences between Marketplace.mios.com and code.mios.com (other than the fact that code.mios.com contains a tool to manage the changes made to the piece of software ?
Vera2 UI4(1.1.1245/3.2), Kwikset x1, HM-DW001 x1, ZRP100 x1, HA-04WD x1, ZDP100 x6, HSM100 x2, VRI06-1LX x8, ZW5301 x1, HM-FS001 x2, ZRW103W x1, GE 45606 x2, HA05C x1, TED5000 x1

Offline mcvflorin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1755
  • Karma: +11/-3
Re: Home Care Plugin
« Reply #3 on: May 11, 2011, 07:44:11 am »
Quote from: huogas
If you talk about the one in"code.mios.com", it goes to " Welcome to Trac 0.11.6 " without any specific information about the "Home care plugin" (at least in my case). You could maybe have a lokk at it ?

I haven't written any description for it yet. It follows the same install procedure as the other plugins: upload all the files via the fields in Luup Files tab (including the js file and the lua file) and create the device in the Create Device tab. It requires a firmware version 1.1.1183 or newer to work.

Quote from: huogas
Based on your understanding, what is the differences between Marketplace.mios.com and code.mios.com (other than the fact that code.mios.com contains a tool to manage the changes made to the piece of software ?

Currently code.mios.com offers more features for the developers (a repository with versioning, a wiki page for description, etc.), while the marketplace is easier to use. The Developers Section for the marketplace is in the works, which will offer some of the features of code.mios.com. Until this is finished, I recommend code.mios.com.

Offline Ap15e

  • Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1998
  • Karma: +12/-0
Re: Home Care Plugin
« Reply #4 on: May 11, 2011, 09:11:12 am »
Is the Home Care Plugin supposed to work remotely? It seems to fail at "Opening Users ...".

Offline mcvflorin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1755
  • Karma: +11/-3
Re: Home Care Plugin
« Reply #5 on: May 11, 2011, 10:25:21 am »
No, currently JavaScript based plugins don't work remotely because of the way the js file is imported. I asked Vali to fix this and he will look into it this week.

Offline iflyM3

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 144
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Home Care Plugin
« Reply #6 on: May 12, 2011, 02:44:56 am »
meh, I am within the same network (LAN) as my Vera and I am seeing the same thing that Ap15e is seeing, only I also noticed that the Startup Lua has Failed for the plugin.  I reinstalled 3 times, same thing each time performing the usual jazz (save, refresh, save, refresh, etc.).
Vera 2 UI5 (1.5.622)... and too many Z-Wave/Ethernet/Wi-Fi devices to list.

Offline mcvflorin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1755
  • Karma: +11/-3
Re: Home Care Plugin
« Reply #7 on: May 12, 2011, 08:00:52 am »
I updated the plugin and I wrote the Trac Wiki page for it. It still doesn't work when Vera is accessed remotely though.
« Last Edit: May 12, 2011, 08:03:21 am by mcvflorin »

Offline Abilia

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Home Care Plugin
« Reply #8 on: May 25, 2011, 08:21:13 am »
@mcvflorin

Love the plugin, works great. But I would like an additional feature, to be able to set the time interval where the sensors are inactive, for example during the day! so that I don't get an alert at night if no motion is detected.
Is that something that can be easily implemented?

Offline mcvflorin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1755
  • Karma: +11/-3
Re: Home Care Plugin
« Reply #9 on: May 25, 2011, 08:54:28 am »
Good idea! I will implement this when I find the time, because it could take several hours to make it right.

Offline mcvflorin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1755
  • Karma: +11/-3
Re: Home Care Plugin
« Reply #10 on: June 24, 2011, 01:27:03 pm »
@Abilia

I updated the plugin as requested.

http://code.mios.com/trac/mios_home-care/wiki/WikiStart

Offline denix

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1088
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Re: Home Care Plugin
« Reply #11 on: June 25, 2011, 12:50:24 pm »
Can someone please explain to me the purpose of this plugin? I read the trac page several times and still don't understand why you need "notifications when armed sensor is inactive" and what does inactive mean? Not tripped or not responding? Thanks :)
Veras (1, 2, 3, Lite, Plus), lots of different Z-Wave modules, Luup plugins and theater/security integration.

Offline futzle

  • Beta Testers
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3260
  • Karma: +192/-9
Re: Home Care Plugin
« Reply #12 on: June 25, 2011, 08:52:23 pm »
@denix, As I understand it, this plugin taps into all of a Vera's security sensors (except the ones that are bypassed), and resets a timer whenever one of them trips.  If a certain period of time goes by and none of the sensors trip, it triggers a notification.

Why would this be useful?  I have an elderly relative who lives about 45 minutes' drive away.  He's independent but he lives alone.  I don't call him every day, so if he had an accident I wouldn't find out about it until it was probably too late.  This plugin can notify me if there's an unexpected length of inactivity in his house.

@mcvflorin, this is really useful.  Thanks for sharing it.  I was going to write a plugin a lot like this (but without as much marketing tact; I was going to call mine "Dead Man's Switch").  Here are the features that I was going to put into my plugin that aren't yet in the Home Care plugin:

1. Trigger an event when the timer runs out, rather than send the notification directly.  This would let me program scenes to react to the timer running out (say, turning on cameras, flashing a light on the outside of his house, sending me an iPhone ping through Prowl, etc.).
2. Follow the Armed state of any Alarm Partitions in the house, and (optionally) disable the timer if a partition is armed.  If my elderly relative is out of the house, he'll arm his security system and I won't receive false notifications when the house is expectedly quiet.

If you get around to implementing them before I do, I won't be upset. :)

Offline denix

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1088
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Home Care Plugin
« Reply #13 on: June 26, 2011, 07:59:57 pm »
@futzle, thanks for the explanation!
Veras (1, 2, 3, Lite, Plus), lots of different Z-Wave modules, Luup plugins and theater/security integration.

Offline mcvflorin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1755
  • Karma: +11/-3
Re: Home Care Plugin
« Reply #14 on: June 27, 2011, 07:03:55 am »
@mcvflorin, this is really useful.  Thanks for sharing it.  I was going to write a plugin a lot like this (but without as much marketing tact; I was going to call mine "Dead Man's Switch").  Here are the features that I was going to put into my plugin that aren't yet in the Home Care plugin:

1. Trigger an event when the timer runs out, rather than send the notification directly.  This would let me program scenes to react to the timer running out (say, turning on cameras, flashing a light on the outside of his house, sending me an iPhone ping through Prowl, etc.).
2. Follow the Armed state of any Alarm Partitions in the house, and (optionally) disable the timer if a partition is armed.  If my elderly relative is out of the house, he'll arm his security system and I won't receive false notifications when the house is expectedly quiet.

If you get around to implementing them before I do, I won't be upset. :)

The reason it's called Home Care is that initially the plugin's scope was larger, as it also needed to monitor the temperature sensors, and, most importantly, it had to create a pattern during several days of monitoring and configure itself regarding when it was active to follow that pattern.

I like your ideas, and I will implement them this week.