Author Topic: RS232 quad relay controller  (Read 21014 times)

Offline guessed

  • Master Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 5294
  • Karma: +90/-22
  • Release compat is not a bolted-on afterthought
Re: RS232 quad relay controller
« Reply #15 on: April 18, 2012, 11:53:54 am »
Maybe the USB port can barely handle one serial adapter?
Right on the money...

USB Ports are spec'd to deliver 5v @500mA ea.  I wasn't able to get get them to power one Bus-powered USB Hub with a single USB-Serial attached to it...  Each of these was well below that line, ~150mA ea, and it wasn't able to provide stable power to them.  @CJ looked at the errors I was seeing, and traced them back to USB power issues.

Once I connected the Vera3 to a better 12v power rail everything came good again.  My guess is that the power supply provided isn't rated for the total load that it's expected to deliver (Vera 3 + 5v @1A total)

The Vera2, and it's power supply, was able to do this so you could consider hijacking it's wall-wart to see if that gets you further.... or just break open the closet-o-wall warts and find a bigger one.

Offline drag0n

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
  • Karma: +1/-1
Re: RS232 quad relay controller
« Reply #16 on: April 18, 2012, 11:54:37 am »
My VeraLite also had trouble powering 2 serial devices and a USB-UIRT, but with a powered USB  hub it can reliably control 3 serial devices and the USB-UIRT.

That being said, the empty device problem seems unrelated to the power issue. The plug-in should display a warning message after reload if a serial device is not configured.
Try a manual install using the xml files posted in post #6 above.
_____________________________________
Vera Lite, Remotec Z-URC 550, MiniMote, TKB TZ66D, TKB TZ-71, ZXT-120, ACT ZRP200 , SmartSwitch, Quad Relay, Poly Lock & Poly Pad, SQ Blaster & SQ Blaster+, HMS100, Everspring SF812, Current Cost EnviR, RFXtrx, RollerTrol , Flamingo FA20RF

Offline strangely

  • Beta Testers
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3709
  • Karma: +33/-2
  • Vera 1,3 & V light
Re: RS232 quad relay controller
« Reply #17 on: April 18, 2012, 12:16:22 pm »
I also tried to power a dual port WIZnet IP to serial adapter from my V3 USBs over the weekend during a rewiring/tidy up effort, and it wouldn't work! This IP/serial adapter has been fine when powered from by my DirecTV receivers USB port!

I'm going to re-try it from the V3 again as I've also gotten mine up and running with a dedicated 12V DC power supply/UPS since.
Kwickset locks, HA01C, HA14C, HA02C, HA03C, HA05C, HA04C, HA07C, HA09C, Aeon HEM, GE 45604, 45606, 45609, ZDP100, VRF01-1LZ, WDTC-20, HA18WD, WDHA-12R, HRDS1, HM-TS001, AC1-ZW, TV-IP110, BL-C210A, LUUP control- EtherRain8, DSC Alarm, HDMI matrix, HR24-200, Panasonic TV, SQblaster

Offline shady

  • Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1327
  • Karma: +11/-0
  • This monkey knows his Window Coverings!
Re: RS232 quad relay controller
« Reply #18 on: April 18, 2012, 05:08:59 pm »
Thank you all, I have read the posts about USB power issues but didn't understand how bad it really was, plus having had different experiences with previous Vera's which successfully ran a serial adapter plus a couple USB sticks ( I know I am preaching to the choir here ).

@Drag0n, I did try to manually upload the files from post 6 and they uploaded OK and it restarted Luup OK, but it didn't change the device which still blank/unconfigured.  I will try adding a powered USB hub and report back tonight.
Vera3 1.5.346, Schlage (3)DB (2)Lever, Kwikset (1)Lever, RCS TZ43 Thermo, (2) Vizia RZI06-1LX 600W Dimmers, (17) Monster (Leviton) Dimmers (6) Monster (Leviton) IWC Scene Controllers (1) Etherrain-8, (3) HSM 100's (1)GE 3-Way set

Offline shady

  • Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1327
  • Karma: +11/-0
  • This monkey knows his Window Coverings!
Re: RS232 quad relay controller
« Reply #19 on: April 19, 2012, 11:37:14 am »
Adding the powered USB hub didn't do anything to configure the device, I tried restarting Luup, etc.  I even tried uninstalling the device/plug-in and reinstalling, but ended up with the same unconfigured device.  So I uninstalled and uploaded both sets of files to Vera manually (projections and quadrelay) and manually created a device using the quadrelay files and  after I restarted Luup it seemed to configure properly.  i deleted the projector files as it turns out they weren't needed.  I think the plug-in still needs to be installed manually.

It creates a Projector Parent device and 2 child (Window) Blind devices.  The child devices don't expose controls, you have to go into setting on the device to use the controls.  This works, but it doesn't expose the device in SQ Remote as far as I can tell.  Any suggestions?

Vera3 1.5.346, Schlage (3)DB (2)Lever, Kwikset (1)Lever, RCS TZ43 Thermo, (2) Vizia RZI06-1LX 600W Dimmers, (17) Monster (Leviton) Dimmers (6) Monster (Leviton) IWC Scene Controllers (1) Etherrain-8, (3) HSM 100's (1)GE 3-Way set

Offline drag0n

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
  • Karma: +1/-1
Re: RS232 quad relay controller
« Reply #20 on: April 19, 2012, 05:49:38 pm »
@shady:
Is the child devices type: urn:schemas-micasaverde-com:device:WindowCovering:1 ?
What's your Vera firmware version ?
_____________________________________
Vera Lite, Remotec Z-URC 550, MiniMote, TKB TZ66D, TKB TZ-71, ZXT-120, ACT ZRP200 , SmartSwitch, Quad Relay, Poly Lock & Poly Pad, SQ Blaster & SQ Blaster+, HMS100, Everspring SF812, Current Cost EnviR, RFXtrx, RollerTrol , Flamingo FA20RF

Offline shady

  • Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1327
  • Karma: +11/-0
  • This monkey knows his Window Coverings!
Re: RS232 quad relay controller
« Reply #21 on: April 20, 2012, 02:53:43 am »
@shady:
Is the child devices type: urn:schemas-micasaverde-com:device:WindowCovering:1 ?
What's your Vera firmware version ?

Yes they are...now.  I posted here too soon Vera took a while before displaying the devices in the Windows device tab.  Everything is working great and the USB hub is doing its job.

I forgot that SQ Remote doesn't support window coverings in Vera with an up/stop/down control.  The type of control that SQ Remote does offer is open/close and then percentages of open (sliders and presets). 
Vera3 1.5.346, Schlage (3)DB (2)Lever, Kwikset (1)Lever, RCS TZ43 Thermo, (2) Vizia RZI06-1LX 600W Dimmers, (17) Monster (Leviton) Dimmers (6) Monster (Leviton) IWC Scene Controllers (1) Etherrain-8, (3) HSM 100's (1)GE 3-Way set

Offline chris66

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 264
  • Karma: +9/-7
Re: RS232 quad relay controller
« Reply #22 on: June 06, 2012, 10:24:19 am »
Hello, I can see in the relay description:"Turn on/off electrical appliances through RS-232, or over TCP/IP" so is there a RJ45 interface? Or the RJ45 must be connected through an RS-232 adaptator? Thanks.

Offline drag0n

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
  • Karma: +1/-1
Re: RS232 quad relay controller
« Reply #23 on: June 06, 2012, 10:31:46 am »
This quad relay is RS232 only. The seller offers another relay with IP control.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Push-mail-trigger-relay-status-email-wifi-wireless-http-power-electrical-switch-/170792623808?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item27c4089ec0#ht_1925wt_1413
I haven't tried it but it should be possible to create a plugin for it.
_____________________________________
Vera Lite, Remotec Z-URC 550, MiniMote, TKB TZ66D, TKB TZ-71, ZXT-120, ACT ZRP200 , SmartSwitch, Quad Relay, Poly Lock & Poly Pad, SQ Blaster & SQ Blaster+, HMS100, Everspring SF812, Current Cost EnviR, RFXtrx, RollerTrol , Flamingo FA20RF

Offline chris66

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 264
  • Karma: +9/-7
Re: RS232 quad relay controller
« Reply #24 on: June 06, 2012, 11:21:46 am »
Thanks, seems promising!

Offline strangely

  • Beta Testers
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3709
  • Karma: +33/-2
  • Vera 1,3 & V light
Re: RS232 quad relay controller
« Reply #25 on: June 07, 2012, 12:04:29 am »
You could also use this with a WIZnet device to convert IP to Serial.

http://www.embeddedworks.net/pdetail.php?mn=wire&prod=wire014
Kwickset locks, HA01C, HA14C, HA02C, HA03C, HA05C, HA04C, HA07C, HA09C, Aeon HEM, GE 45604, 45606, 45609, ZDP100, VRF01-1LZ, WDTC-20, HA18WD, WDHA-12R, HRDS1, HM-TS001, AC1-ZW, TV-IP110, BL-C210A, LUUP control- EtherRain8, DSC Alarm, HDMI matrix, HR24-200, Panasonic TV, SQblaster

Offline dforster

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: RS232 quad relay controller
« Reply #26 on: June 11, 2012, 11:40:41 am »
Hi,

Juts to be clear, do I need both your plugin AND the Somfy plugin for this to work?

Cheers

Dan

Offline drag0n

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
  • Karma: +1/-1
Re: RS232 quad relay controller
« Reply #27 on: June 11, 2012, 01:20:50 pm »
You only need to install the quad-relay plugin.
_____________________________________
Vera Lite, Remotec Z-URC 550, MiniMote, TKB TZ66D, TKB TZ-71, ZXT-120, ACT ZRP200 , SmartSwitch, Quad Relay, Poly Lock & Poly Pad, SQ Blaster & SQ Blaster+, HMS100, Everspring SF812, Current Cost EnviR, RFXtrx, RollerTrol , Flamingo FA20RF

Offline dforster

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: RS232 quad relay controller
« Reply #28 on: June 15, 2012, 04:48:48 am »
Hi,

I ordered the USB to RS232 leads - they came and plug into Vera and work with no drivers. I ordered the relay board as per your link, this came and all seems fine too. I have tried to load the plugin which seems to be OK, this gives me a new device with no name. I gave it a name and then link the RS232 port as per instructions - all OK. I then loose it as far as the Somfy instructions are concerned as nothing seems to be the same on my version of Vera (version: 1.5.346 - Vera 3). From the Somfy - item 4 onwards i cant see how to click the '+' sign etc... Could you possibly do a simple list for me as far as how to install on Vera 3?

Cheers

Dan

Offline drag0n

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
  • Karma: +1/-1
Re: RS232 quad relay controller
« Reply #29 on: June 16, 2012, 02:37:12 pm »
@dforster
Is the new device of device type urn:ProjectorScreen-com:device:blinds:1 ?
If so it should have created child devices (windowcovering type) for the relays.
If your new device is a generic device, than the plugin wasn't succesfuly installed. Try a manual install as suggested in the previous posts.
_____________________________________
Vera Lite, Remotec Z-URC 550, MiniMote, TKB TZ66D, TKB TZ-71, ZXT-120, ACT ZRP200 , SmartSwitch, Quad Relay, Poly Lock & Poly Pad, SQ Blaster & SQ Blaster+, HMS100, Everspring SF812, Current Cost EnviR, RFXtrx, RollerTrol , Flamingo FA20RF