Author Topic: Vera3 power light is blinking green&orange OR power light is solid green  (Read 76827 times)

Offline axill

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 183
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: Vera3 power light is blinking green&orange OR power light is solid green
« Reply #30 on: January 26, 2012, 05:09:37 pm »
I'm very unluky with my new vera3.
It was recovered by cj using bettar firmware but i can not use vera even i can access it - it refuses to save changes by showing the message:

Quote
Save data
This feature is not enabled. You need to upgrade to the 'Professional Home Automation' option.

also wifi client mode is not working
i cannot login to my mios account withing vera3 while can easely connect with vera2

I own vera3 for a week without any success
any chance to make it working?
or i have to return it for replacement or compencation?

Offline axill

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 183
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: Vera3 power light is blinking green&orange OR power light is solid green
« Reply #31 on: January 29, 2012, 04:27:40 pm »
Thank's for CJ, now my Vera is working

Offline edbroni

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Vera3 power light is blinking green&orange OR power light is solid green
« Reply #32 on: January 29, 2012, 09:18:02 pm »
Quote
Your unit is fine. The wan light is flashing as it is trying to receive a connection. How long did you leave the network cable plugged into the wan port. Did you try to even access the unit? Is this your first time setting it up?

- Garrett
Quote

Garrett,

   I connected the network cable from router in Vera3 wan port and worked. I added the zwave devices. Now I wait a response from MCV about use Vera3 like a router.   Thank you for help.

Edgar

Offline cj

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1253
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • MiCasaVerde
Re: Vera3 power light is blinking green&orange OR power light is solid green
« Reply #33 on: January 30, 2012, 06:29:50 am »
Quote
Your unit is fine. The wan light is flashing as it is trying to receive a connection. How long did you leave the network cable plugged into the wan port. Did you try to even access the unit? Is this your first time setting it up?

- Garrett
Quote

Garrett,

   I connected the network cable from router in Vera3 wan port and worked. I added the zwave devices. Now I wait a response from MCV about use Vera3 like a router.   Thank you for help.

Edgar
What made you connect the cable from your router into Vera's LAN port? Let us know what was unclear in the start up guide so that we could improve it in the next version.

Offline edbroni

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Vera3 power light is blinking green&orange OR power light is solid green
« Reply #34 on: January 30, 2012, 08:47:51 am »
Quote
That made you connect the cable from your router into Vera's LAN port? Let us know what was unclear in the start up guide so that we could improve it in the next version.

The start up guide is clear. I tried to use Vera like my main router but not worked yet. I used the lan port to setup and switch between automatic and manual configure in network option. I always used the wan port to connect in my cable modem.
Just to explain, my problem is make Vera be main router to my entire network without other router. My device donĀ“t recognize the internet conection with a direct cable from modem.

Offline cokeman

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 82
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Vera3 power light is blinking green&orange OR power light is solid green
« Reply #35 on: February 05, 2012, 01:16:32 pm »
Hi

When trying to use the link in the O.P. but it states I'm on the latest firmware, how to get it updatet above 1.5.270  ??


/Cokeman

Offline garrettwp

  • Beta Testers
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6376
  • Karma: +226/-128
  • Vera 3, Lite, ISY994
Re: Vera3 power light is blinking green&orange OR power light is solid green
« Reply #36 on: February 05, 2012, 01:22:10 pm »
You can not. 1.5.254/1.5.255 is the latest public release. Anything newer are builds released to the beta team.

- Garrett

Offline Texan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Vera3 power light is blinking green&orange OR power light is solid green
« Reply #37 on: February 15, 2012, 11:56:09 pm »
My last post ITT was Jan 17th - CJ helped me recover my vera 3 from the constant green light issue.

Everything was groovy for about a month, I am very impressed with this system (my first home automation system)
Almost exactly one month since re-flash the constant green light has returned :(
I connected to the Vera 3 via the serial pins and I have the same issue Verifying Checksum ... Bad Data CRC
I will re-flash my unit but I have some trepidation about loosing everything again to a bad data crc
Could this possibly be a hardware issue? 
The fact that exactly one month after re-flash the unit goes back into Bad Data CRC mode: could this be a software error? Something timing out or mis-calculating after 30 days?

I noticed that the latest-vera3-recovery-firmware is slightly larger than the file I used a month ago and it was created on Jan 30.
 
always backup your settings, I didn't :(  EDIT: MOST of my devices are there after re-flash.  I'm Happy :)
« Last Edit: February 16, 2012, 12:35:29 am by Texan »

Offline garrettwp

  • Beta Testers
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6376
  • Karma: +226/-128
  • Vera 3, Lite, ISY994
Re: Vera3 power light is blinking green&orange OR power light is solid green
« Reply #38 on: February 16, 2012, 01:39:46 am »
The reflash will not affect your zwave chip. In the UI5 dashboard, under the "Settings" tab, go to the backup sub tab, you should see a list of backups of your vera. You can download the last good backup and do a restore to get your vera back to where it was. As CJ explained in his post, the issue is a software issue and is fixed in builds later than the current release. Hopefully when the new firmware gets released in a weeks time, this will be a non issue.

Did you unplug the Vera unit prior to the green light issue?

- Garrett

Offline cj

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1253
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • MiCasaVerde
Re: Vera3 power light is blinking green&orange OR power light is solid green
« Reply #39 on: February 16, 2012, 03:38:13 am »

I noticed that the latest-vera3-recovery-firmware is slightly larger than the file I used a month ago and it was created on Jan 30.

I've built a new firmware which has a new bootloader and the ecc fixed in both bootloader and kernel. This is newer than the one you've used one month ago and everybody that's doing a firmware recovery should use the new one. If you will do the recovery with the previous version, you could still encounter issues.
After you do the recovery, you need to login into your cp.mios.com account and download a backup for your unit (vera automatically uploads a good backup each 24 hours into your cp.mios.com account)

Offline garrettwp

  • Beta Testers
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6376
  • Karma: +226/-128
  • Vera 3, Lite, ISY994
Re: Vera3 power light is blinking green&orange OR power light is solid green
« Reply #40 on: February 16, 2012, 04:01:44 am »
I was in a corner the other day when I messed up my Vera 3. It would not load the web site, but I was able to gain ssh access. I could not get the firmware recovery procedures to work as the only windows installation I have is windows 7. I followed the wiki guide and could not get the recovery tool to find my network adapter. I have tried several machines and the tool would not find any of the network adapters on the other machines. The tool was setup to run windows xp service pack 3 compatibility mode and still no luck. There needs to be a better way to recover and not have to rely on a windows that is now not supported by microsoft. In the end, I followed the instructions in the first post to telnet into the unit and ran the commands and it came back up.

Question, when upgrading vera's firmware via the normal procedures, e.g. going to the firmware web page, does the newer firmware include the fixes?

- Garrett

Offline cj

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1253
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • MiCasaVerde
Re: Vera3 power light is blinking green&orange OR power light is solid green
« Reply #41 on: February 16, 2012, 04:49:24 am »

Question, when upgrading vera's firmware via the normal procedures, e.g. going to the firmware web page, does the newer firmware include the fixes?


When doing a firmware upgrade through the web page(to a version greater than 1.5.287), it will upgrade also the base image which contains the latest kernel fixes but will not contain the new bootloader. The bootloader ecc has effect only when upgrading the firmware using the recovery tool.
The recovery tool and the bootloder are made by the hardware manufacture and they said that they don't have the man power to make a Windows 7 tool right now. We're making preasure and hopping to have a Windows 7 tool, from them, also in the future.

Offline garrettwp

  • Beta Testers
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6376
  • Karma: +226/-128
  • Vera 3, Lite, ISY994
Re: Vera3 power light is blinking green&orange OR power light is solid green
« Reply #42 on: February 16, 2012, 02:11:12 pm »

Question, when upgrading vera's firmware via the normal procedures, e.g. going to the firmware web page, does the newer firmware include the fixes?


When doing a firmware upgrade through the web page(to a version greater than 1.5.287), it will upgrade also the base image which contains the latest kernel fixes but will not contain the new bootloader. The bootloader ecc has effect only when upgrading the firmware using the recovery tool.
The recovery tool and the bootloder are made by the hardware manufacture and they said that they don't have the man power to make a Windows 7 tool right now. We're making preasure and hopping to have a Windows 7 tool, from them, also in the future.

Glad to hear as Windows XP is pretty much done with and most windows computers now a days come with Windows 7. If I had my way, I would really like to have a linux tool.

- Garrett

Offline futzle

  • Beta Testers
  • Master Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3221
  • Karma: +179/-8
Vera3 power light is blinking green&orange OR power light is solid green
« Reply #43 on: February 16, 2012, 03:25:15 pm »
If companies truly wanted to Do It Once then they'd put their firmware image onto a live Linux CD ISO. Those of us old enough to remember boot floppies will recognize the full circle.

Offline Rusty

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Vera3 power light is blinking green&orange OR power light is solid green
« Reply #44 on: February 23, 2012, 04:26:40 pm »
CJ: When clicking on firmware it tells me:
You are running the latest version: 1.5.254
I have already had to reboot once per your instructions. Since my firmware is less than 1.5.270, can you tell me the proper procedure for disconnecting my Vera3 from power and my network so that I can add new devices without bricking my unit? Also, after i have added devices, what is the proper procedure before reconnecting to power and network?