Author Topic: Setting Time/Date  (Read 5843 times)

Offline rogercfl

Setting Time/Date
« on: March 08, 2012, 07:45:44 pm »
Once again, total newbie here, so maybe I missed something in reading the online manual and searching the forums. 

After a power outage or unplugging my Vera Lite to add a new device, I have to reset the time and date.  Losing the time setting is not a big deal except when the power goes out while I'm away and my automated programs all start running at the wrong time!  The date, however, is a big PITA.  Why, oh why, does the calendar in the settings start at 1970???  Clicking the mouse button 350+ times to get the calendar from January of 1970 to March of 2012 is rediculous... is there anyone actually using a date from 30 40 years ago? 

Is there an easier way to set the date, or can I get it to where Vera picks up the time/date settings from the internet? 

Other than this, my Vera setup is rocking along quite nicely.  Thanks in advance for any help.
« Last Edit: March 08, 2012, 08:55:55 pm by rogercfl »

Offline oTi@

• Beta Testers
  • Master Member
  • UI what ?!
Re: Setting Time/Date
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2012, 08:47:10 pm »
Is there an easier way to set the date, or can I get it to where Vera picks up the time/date settings from the internet? 
If Vera is connected to the internet and you have set the proper time zone in Setup > Unit Settings the date/time should be automatically set. Is that not happening for you?
Dezwaved at the moment...

Offline rogercfl

« Reply #2 on: March 08, 2012, 08:51:59 pm »
Nope; it is not automatically setting it for me.  I"m connected through a small switch that connects to my router over ethernet (no wireless), and I've got a green-light on the internet connection on my Vera...

I've got my timezone setup to Chicago (for Dallas).
« Last Edit: March 08, 2012, 08:54:24 pm by rogercfl »

Offline RichardTSchaefer

• Master Member
    • RTS Services Plugins
« Reply #3 on: March 08, 2012, 10:01:19 pm »